About Council

City of Newcastle Council was formed in April 1938 with the merger of Adamstown, Carrington, Hamilton, Lambton, Merewether, Newcastle, New Lambton, Stockton, Wallsend, Waratah and Wickham Councils.

Advisory Committees

Strategic Advisory Committees provide advice and guidance on the development of strategies, and identification of challenges and opportunities for Council.


Explore the exciting and challenging career opportunities that exist within our organisation.

Council Elections

Newcastle elections were held on Saturday 9 September 2017. Next election will be held in September 2020.

Council Meetings

Council meets regularly on a Tuesday night from 5.30pm with most meetings being open to the public.


Council is made up of a Lord Mayor and twelve Councillors

New Administration Centre at 12 Stewart Avenue

We are leasing a new office building for 15 years at 12 Stewart Avenue, Newcastle West. Our staff will occupy all six floors in the southern tower, and the second floor of the northern tower.

Our Organisation

City of Newcastle was formed in April 1938. Council is responsible for looking after public facilities and providing over 70 community services.

Ward Maps

Newcastle Local Government Area is divided into four wards. Find out which ward you live in.