GURAKI ABORIGINAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE TERMS OF REFERENCE



GOVERNING BODY / APPROVED BY FUNCTIONAL ALIGNMENT

Council
Corporate Services

SHORT DESCRIPTION

To provide advice and guidance in relation to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander issues, giving life to Council's commitment to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people of the City of Newcastle and engaging Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people in Local Government.

Our commitments:

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and culture

NEWCASTLE 2040 COMMUNITY STRATEGIC PLAN ALIGNMENT

Creative

- 3.3 Celebrating culture
 - 3.3.1 Nurture cultural and creative practitioners
 - 3.3.3 Culture in everyday life

Achieving together

- 4.2 Trust and Transparency
 - 4.2.1 Genuine engagement
- 4.3 Collaborative and innovative approach
 - 4.3.1 Collaborative organisation

PURPOSE

- 1. To give life to Council's 1998 Commitment to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples of the City of Newcastle;
- 2. To provide advice and guidance in relation to Aboriginal matters of cultural and heritage significance;
- 3. To engage Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples in Local Government;
- 4. To raise the broad community awareness of Aboriginal culture and themes;
- To provide a united voice for Aboriginal peoples of the City of Newcastle.

MEETING SCHEDULE

Quarterly, on the first Tuesday of the month commencing at 5:30pm.

MEMBERSHIP

- 1. Up to three Councillors;
- 2. Representatives from Stakeholder Organisations, determined by the Committee (Chairperson and Co-Chairperson with the assistance Facilitator); and
- 3. Up to three Community Representatives.

CHAIRPERSON

This committee operates using a co-chairperson model. One Councillor appointed by the Council from among the Councillor members, and one member elected at the first meeting of the committee.

GURAKI ABORIGINAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE TERMS OF REFERENCE



MEMBERS

Councillor Member – Cr Deahnna Richardson
Councillor Member – Cr Peta Winney-Baartz
Councillor Member – Cr Charlotte McCabe
Awabakal Local Aboriginal Land Council – Stakeholder Member
Luke Russell - Wylaa Buuranliyn (Deputy Chair) - Stakeholder Member
Julie-anne Rose - Awabakal Ltd - Stakeholder Member
Cheryl Kitchener - Aboriginal Affairs NSW - Stakeholder Member
Andrew Smith - Worimi Local Aboriginal Land Council - Stakeholder Member
Maree Edwards - Community Member