Is my Property Heritage Listed?

Page hero image

How do I find out if my property is heritage listed?

Heritage items, heritage conservation areas and known archaeological sites are identified in Schedule 5 of the Newcastle LEP and shown on accompanying heritage maps. The LEP is the legal instrument and is updated as amendments are made. If your property is included in the Schedule 5 as a heritage item, a heritage conservation area or is an archaeological site, then it is heritage listed.

Newcastle Heritage Register

Wondering why your property is heritage listed? The Newcastle Heritage Register on the NSW State Heritage Inventory Database explains the reasons for the heritage listing. Use this register if you are preparing a Heritage Impact Statement. It can also be used to find information relating to your property. Note, the register is hosted by an external website.

How to search

  • In the field 'Local Government Area' select Newcastle
  • In the field 'Listings' select Local Environmental Plan
  • Select 'search'

Important - To sort the results alphabetically in suburb order, hover your cursor over the word 'suburb' and left click. The results will then be displayed beginning with Adamstown. Simply scroll through the list to find your suburb using the street address of your property.

What is a heritage listing?

There are literally hundreds of items throughout our city that have been assessed as having heritage significance. Many of these items have been 'heritage listed' so that they may be protected and preserved. There are three types of heritage listed place. 

  • Heritage Items
  • Heritage Conservation Areas
  • Archaeological sites

Heritage Items are a diverse group that may be anything from a building or house, to a tree, monument or memorial, industrial object, streetscape or parkland.  

Heritage Conservation Areas contain groups of buildings or whole suburbs where the place and its setting has been found to have heritage significance. The level of contribution that each building makes to a heritage conservation area has been assessed and identified in maps that will soon be available to download (early 2016). 

Archaeological sites include known relics and archaeological sites.